Twilight: The Review

twilight-movie-poster2

It’s no surprise to anyone that read this blog that I went to see Twilight this weekend.  My review is after the jump. If you haven’t read the book and plan to see the movie, you might not want to read it…not that it really gives anything away.

I finished re-reading the book on Saturday morning and went to see the movie Saturday night.  Maybe it was the fact that the book was so fresh in my mind or that I had high expectations for the movie, but I really didn’t think it was all that great.  The movie was too short for the whole plot of the book so I felt that a lot of things got glossed over or rushed through.  I don’t think the extent and deepness of the love between Edward and Bella was shown properly in the movie.  Not sure if that’s due to poor direction, bad acting or a crappy screenplay.

Here’s probably the best example of poor direction in the entire film – in the scene where Bella goes into science class for the first time and Edward acts like he can’t stand her.  They portrayed that by having Edward squinch his face up and cover his nose.  The entire audience erupted in laughter at that.  Was there seriously no other way to show that?  I mean, Edward doesn’t need to breathe so why would he cover his nose instead of just stop breathing (like he did in the book).

The only scene I really wanted them to get right was the scene in the meadow.  That is such a pivotal part of the book and their relationship.  I mean, Bella just gives Edward the nod and they head into the woods?  That’s so not how it’s done in the book.  One of the cool part of the meadow was the expectation before it happens.  In the book, Bella says she knows that whatever happens in the meadow will affect everything else.  You just don’t really get the sense of that in the movie.

One last bad thing, I know the movie was low budget and all, but the special effects were so super duper cheesy.  I hope that since it’s a blockbuster now, they will throw more money into making the sequal…and maybe get a new director.

Now, on to the good stuff, Robert Pattinson was gorgeous.  Like, beyond gorgeous.  And he did a really good job playing Edward.  That’s about all I have to say on that.

One Response to “Twilight: The Review”

  1. Rick Boyer Says:

    I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.


Leave a Reply

